Staying Hydrated: My favorite products

We’re going through a heat wave and I’m 40 weeks pregnant. Therefore, its super important that I stay hydrated. Dehydration can lead to premature contractions. And although I am ready for this baby to come out, I would rather he come when he feels ready, not because I’m dehydrated.

My goal throughout both of my pregnancies has been to drink 80 oz of water a day. Here are my favorite products that help me make sure I drink over 80 oz of water a day.

  1. Water Your Body app – this is a free app that tracks how much water you drink in a
    day. It also provides notifications to remind you to either drink water, or log the water that you’ve already drunk. It’s super user friendly and one of my favorite apps. Note: I have an android and it’s free on there. I’m not sure if it’s also available for free on iPhones.
  2. Takeya Glass Water Bottle – I’ve had many different reusable water bottles over the years and this one is hands down my favorite.  For some reason the glass makes the water taste really fresh! I can’t go back to plastic water bottles ever again.  Some may worry about the practicality of a glass bottle, especially if you’re accident prone like me, but the silicon cover protects it from breaking. I’ve dropped it numerous times without it cracking at all. Finally, it is totally dishwasher safe. So it’s easy to clean, easy to use, and easy to love. And it keeps me hydrated when I’m away from home. 
  3. Fruit Infusion Water Pitcher – I love this pitcher! It keeps me hydrated when I am at home. Whitney bought me a replacement one after I accidentally lost my old one the last time we moved, and I use it all of the time. All you do is put in fruits or herbs that you want to flavor your water, and enjoy! It provides endless access to luxurious spa water. My favorite fruits to use are honeydew melon, lime, mint, and cucumber, which is the combination I used in the picture. But you can also add grapefruit, lemons, strawberries, rosemary, basil, ginger, raspberries, pineapples, watermelon, etc.! Here’s a list of different recipes, but I just put in whatever I have on hand. Now you can easily flavor a pitcher of water without buying this particular pitcher. But what I love about it is that every time I pour a glass I get all of the flavor and none of the fruit. When I make a pitcher of flavored water, I just keep refiling it and continue to get the flavor of the fruit for days.

0515141402a

So this is how I ensure that I drink 80 oz of water a day. The water bottle is $20 at amazon.com, but I found two for $25 at my local Costco. The pitcher is also $20 on amazon.com and target.com. I definitely think it’s worth the investment to stay hydrated during a heatwave, during pregnancy, or during a heatwave when you’re pregnant. Now let’s hope that either this heatwave ends or this baby comes out soon!

Katrina

Leave a comment